Talkin' Broadway Sound Advice Recap Week of 7/23/19 (updated 7/26/19)

Receive the weekly recap by email each Tuesday: Sign up on the front page, right below the menu (at the bottom of the page on mobile screens)..

See the complete list of Upcoming/Recent releases.

Earlier recaps:

2019: July 16, 9, 2 | June 25, 18, 11, 4 | May 28, 21, 14, 7 | April 30, 23, 16, 9, 2 | March 26, 19, 12 | 5 | February 26, 19, 12, 5 | January 29, 22, 15, 8

2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015

CDs Now Available:

The Jonathan Larson Project
(Ghostlight Records - new on CD)
Based on show presented at Feinstein's/54 Below, which was directed and conceived by Jennifer Ashley Tepper, an evening of Jonathan Larson's unheard work, featuring songs from never-produced shows like 1984 and Superbia; songs that were cut from Rent and tick tick BOOM; songs written for theatrical revues and songs written for the radio; songs about politics and love and New York City; songs never before publicly performed or recorded. Nick Blaemire, Lauren Marcus, Andy Mientus, Krysta Rodriguez, and George Salazar. "Greene Street," "One of These Days," "Break Out the Booze," "Out of My Dreams," "Valentine's Day," "White Male World," "Riff/Poetry," "La Di Da Rap," "Iron Mike," "Find the Key," "Hosing the Furniture," "Pura Vida," "The Truth Is a Lie," "Rhapsody," "SOS," "Love Heals," "Piano." Five-piece band including musical director Natalie Tenenbaum, Charlie Rosen, Cody Owen Stine, Megan Talay, and Marques Walls. Music supervision, orchestrations and arrangements by Charlie Rosen. Danielle Gimbal, copyist. Produced by Jennifer Ashley Tepper, Charlie Rosen, and Kurt Deutsch. Limited edition with 40-page booklet. Digital version released April 5 on mp3/at iTunes.

Lost Broadway 1956-1957: Broadway's Forgotten & Obscure Musicals
(Stage Door Records - new import double CD)
56 tracks including over 25 recordings that appear on CD for the very first time. One disc of original Broadway cast recordings and a companion disc of "Covers and Rarities," showcasing pop covers and other rare recordings from the Broadway musicals of 1956 and 1957. Included are items from Shangri-La, Copper and Brass, Shinbone Alley, Rumple, Happy Hunting, Mr. Wonderful, New Faces Of 1956, Candide, Jamaica, New Girl In Town and the play with music Time Remembered. Performers include Ethel Merman, Sammy Davis, Jr., Chita Rivera, Maggie Smith, Eartha Kitt, Lena Horne, Gwen Verdon, Maurice Chevalier, Buddy Grecco, Margaret Whiting, Tony Martin, Eddie Fisher and more. Informative 12-page booklet.

DIGITAL MUSIC Now Available:

Hadestown OBC digital
(on mp3/at iTunes)
Reeve Carney, Eva Noblezada, Amber Gray, Patrick Page, Andre De Shields, Jewelle Blackman, Kay Trinidad, Yvette Gonzalez-Nacer. Complete digital album after slow roll-out. "Road to Hell," "Any Way the Wind Blows," "Come Home with Me," "Wedding Song," "Epic I," "Livin' it Up on Top," "All I've Ever Known ("In spite of herself...") [Intro]," "All I've Ever Known," "Way Down Hadestown," "A Gathering Storm," "Epic II," "Chant," "Hey, Little Songbird," "When the Chips are Down ("Songbird vs. rattlesnake...") [Intro]," "When the Chips are Down," "Gone, I'm Gone," "Wait for Me ("Hey, the big artiste...") [Intro]," "Wait for Me," "Why We Build the Wall," "Why We Build the Wall ("Behind closed doors...") [Outro]," "Our Lady of the Underground," "Way Down Hadestown (Reprise)," "Flowers," "Come Home with Me (Reprise)," "Papers (Intro)," "Papers (Instrumental)," "Nothing Changes," "If it's True," "How Long?," "Chant (Reprise)," "Epic III," "Epic III (Intro) [Instrumental]," "Promises," "Word to the Wise," "His Kiss, the Riot," "Wait for Me ("If you wanna walk out of hell...") [Intro] [Reprise]," "Wait for Me (Reprise)," "Doubt Comes In," "Road to Hell (Reprise)," "We Raise our Cups." Double CD to be released later.

Original Cast Album: Co-Op
(Lakeshore Records - new digital album on mp3/at iTunes)
Original Documentary Now! "Original Cast Album: Co-op" cast. Spinoff of 1970 D.A. Pennebaker Original Cast Album: Company documentary. Songs by Eli Bolin, John Mulaney, and Seth Meyers. Singing cast includes Richard Kind, Alex Brightman, Renée Elise Goldsberry, Paula Pell. "Co-Op," "Christmas Tips," "Holiday Party (I Did a Little Cocaine Tonight)," "My Home Court," "I Gotta Go," "Going Up."

Ryoko Yonekura: "Roxie"
(Masterworks Broadway - new digital song on mp3/at iTunes)
Newly recorded single from Japanese superstar, who has appeared in Chicago on Broadway.

BOOKs Now Available:

The Art and Making of The Lion King
(Disney Editions - Hardcover Book)
By Michael Goldman. Foreword by Thomas Schumacher, Afterword by Jon Favreau. Concept art, behind-the-scenes photography, and interviews with the 2019 The Lion King film cast and crew. 224 pages. Released 7/16/19.

Be More Chill (Broadway Tie-In)
(Disney-Hyperion - Paperback Book)
By Ned Vizzini. Reprint of 2004 novel, which was adapted into a musical by Joe Iconis and Joe Tracz. Includes photos from the Broadway production. 320 pages.

On Stage at the Ballet: My Life As Dancer and Artistic Director
(McFarland - Paperback Book)
by Robert J. Barnett and Cynthia Crain. Biography of Robert Barnett, who danced in the first generation of the New York City Ballet. Principal dancer and associate artistic director of the Atlanta Ballet, where he remains active today. 200 pages.


Anna Christie
(Broadway Records - new on 2 CDs)
Studio recording of score by Edward Thomas (music) and Joseph Masteroff (librettist), based on the play by Eugene O'Neill. Melanie Long, Frank Basile, Jonathan Estabrooks, Joy Hermalyn, and Mike Pirozzi. Premiered at Encompass New Opera Theatre. Julian Wachner conducts the NOVUS NY orchestra. Produced by Thomas Z. Shepard. At


Margaret Sullavan: The Life and Career of a Reluctant Star
(McFarland - Paperback Book)
By Michael D. Rinella. Biography of film/television/stage (If Love Were All, Stage Door, Voice of the Turtle actress ... her career and details of her personal life, including her marriage to Henry Fonda, her special friendship with James Stewart and her bitter rivalry with Katharine Hepburn. 245 pages.


Moved to 8/23/19:

Oklahoma! revival
(Decca Broadway/Verve - new on CD)
2019 Broadway revival cast recording. Richard Rodgers / Oscar Hammerstein score. Rebecca Naomi Jones, Damon Daunno, Patrick Vaill, Mary Testa, Ali Stroker, James Davis, Will Brill, Mallory Portnoy, Mitch Tebo, Anthony Cason, and Will Mann. "Opening – Oh, What A Beautiful Mornin’," "Laurey's Entrance," "The Surrey With The Fringe On Top," "Kansas City," "I Cain’t Say No," "Many A New Day," "It’s A Scandal! It’s A Outrage!," "People Will Say We're In Love," "Poor Jud Is Daid," "Lonely Room," "Out Of My Dreams," "Dream Ballet," "The Farmer And The Cowman," "All Er Nuthin'," "People Will Say We're In Love (Reprise)," "Oklahoma!." Produced by Dean Sharenow and Daniel Kluger. Released 6/28/19 on mp3 and at iTunes

Added for September 2019:

(Circle Gets the Square - new album)
10th anniversary album of score by Dennis T. Giacino. Featuring actresses from various productions (2015 Off-Broadway production, New York workshops, and tryout productions in Orlando and Tampa): Andrea Canny, Becky Gulsvig, Michelle Knight, J. Elaine Marcos, Soara-Joye Ross, and Jenny Lee Stern. Music director Zach Dietz. Produced by Ethan Popp Ethan Popp. Expected September 2019.

Added for Fall 2019:

Moulin Rouge! OBC
(House of Iona/RCA Records - new on CD)
Cast includes Karen Olivo, Aaron Tveit, Danny Burstein, Sahr Ngaujah, Tam Mutu, Ricky Rojas, and Robyn Hurder. Produced by Baz Luhrmann, Justin Levine, Matt Stine and Alex Timbers. Music supervision, orchestrations and arrangements by Justin Levine. Expected Fall 2019.