Talkin' Broadway Sound Advice Recap Week of 4/23/19 (updated 4/26/19)

Receive the weekly recap by email each Tuesday: Sign up on the front page, right below the menu (at the bottom of the page on mobile screens)..

See the complete list of Upcoming/Recent releases.

Earlier recaps:

2019: April 16, 9, 2 | March 26, 19, 12 | 5 | February 26, 19, 12, 5 | January 29, 22, 15, 8

2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015

MUSIC to be released this Friday, April 26:

Anaïs Mitchell: Hadestown
(Wilderland Records - new double-LP vinyl set)
2010 recording, previously available on mp3/at iTunes. Anaïs Mitchell score. Anaïs Mitchell, Ani Di Franco, Justin Vernon (Bon Iver), The Haden Triplets, Greg Brown and Ben Knox Miller of the Low Anthem. Features six individual 10x10" art prints of the Hadestown characters, illustrated by Peter Nevins.

Spotlight on Gwen Verdon
(Stage Door Records - new import CD)
Verdon's solo album "The Girl I Left Home For," Accompanied by Joe Reisman and his Orchestra. Plus her performances from the cast albums of Damn Yankees, New Girl in Town and Redhead. "Ain't Misbehavin'," "Sand in My Shoes," "Hot Night in Alaska," "Mister and Missus Fitch," "Bettin' on a Man," "Why Can't I?," "I've Got the World on a String," "The Saga of Jenny," "Find Me a Primitive Man," "No Talent Joe," "The Lady Is a Tramp," "Daddy," "Whatever Lola Wants," "A Little Brains, a Little Talent," "On the Farm," "It's Good to Be Alive," "If That Was Love," "Merely Marvelous," "Erbie Fitch's Twitch," "Look Who's in Love" (with Richard Kiley), "Who's Got the Pain" (with Bob Fosse). U.S. release date March 29, 2019. Also at

We Are the Tigers
(Broadway Records - new on CD)
Original Off-Broadway cast. Score by Preston Max Allen. Cathy Ang, Jenny Rose Baker, Cameron Bartell, Kaitlyn Frank, Louis Griffin, Zoe Jensen, Caroline Lellouche, Wonu Ogunfowora, Sydney Parra, Celeste Rose, Mimi Scardulla, Alexia Sielo, and Lauren Zakrin. "Worst Team Ever," "Don't Even," "Skype Tomorrow," "Before the Breakdown," "Forever," "Captain of the Team," "Before the Breakdown (Reprise)," "Wallflower," "Defense," "Mattie's Lament," "Phoenix," "Move on," "Shut Up and Cheer," "Time-Out," "Idk," "The Breakdown," "Finale." Music supervision and arrangements are by Patrick Sulken. Also at


The Man in the Ceiling digital
(Ghostlight Records - new digital album on mp3/at iTunes)
World premiere recording of Andrew Lippa score. Kate Baldwin, Gavin Creel, Grady Miranda, John-Michael Lyles, Ashley Park, and Andrew Lippa. 36-page booklet with full lyrics, original illustrations from Jules Feiffer, a synopsis from Andrew Lippa, and a note from director Jeffrey Seller. "Doin' Fine," "Almost There," "Jimmy," "Hands," "Disappear," "Draw Me," "Maybe He Likes Me," "Where Is My Love Song," "Kidding Around," "Like Your Son," "I Do What I Do," "You Are the Friend," "To the Gods," "Mr. Floperoo," "Draw Your Own Conclusion," "Being Grown-Up" (Bonus Track). Produced by Will Van Dyke and Andrew Lippa, with Andrew Lippa and Kurt Deutsch serving as executive producers. The musical opened at Bay Street Theater in Sag Harbor, NY in 2017. CD format to be released 6/14/19.

Mandy Patinkin: Diary: December 2018
(Nonesuch Records - new digital album on mp3/at iTunes)
Third in a series from Mandy Patinkin and Thomas Barlett. Songs by Patinkin, Paul Simon, Stephin Merritt, Randy Newman, Biff Rose, Teitur, and John Grant. "Hearts and Bones," "The Dance Lesson," "Nothing Matters When We're Dancing," "Wandering Boy," "Molly," "Playing House (Two Kids)," "Mrs. Pelican," "Busby Berkeley Dreams," "I Wish I Had Pictures," "GMF," "Quiet." Produced by Thomas Bartlett. Recorded in Bartlett's New York studio December 2018. A thirty-city Mandy Patinkin in Concert: Diaries begins in October 2019. Released 4/19/19.


Anthem: Homunculus
(Ghostlight Records - new digital album on mp3/at iTunes)
Soundtrack for podcast featuring 30 original songs by Bryan Weller and John Cameron Mitchell. Performances by John Cameron Mitchell, Patti LuPone, Christopher Hanke, Cynthia Erivo, Glenn Close, Marion Cotillard, Denis O'Hare, and others. Pre-orders will include immediate download of "Homunculus" (John Cameron Mitchell), "The End of Love" (cast), "Love You for Free" (Cynthia Erivo), "Second Glance" (Patti LuPone), and "I Exist" (Christopher Hanke). Also at 10-episode series available on Luminary.

Oklahoma! new Broadway cast
(Decca Broadway/Verve - new on CD)
2019 Broadway revival cast recording. Richard Rodgers / Oscar Hammerstein score. Rebecca Naomi Jones, Damon Daunno, Patrick Vaill, Mary Testa, Ali Stroker, James Davis, Will Brill, Mallory Portnoy, Mitch Tebo, Anthony Cason, and Will Mann. Produced by Dean Sharenow and Daniel Kluger. Expected spring-summer 2019.

Tootsie OBC
(Decca Broadway/Verve - new on CD)
Score by David Yazbek. Santino Fontana, Lilli Cooper, Sarah Stiles, John Behlmann, Andy Grotelueschen, Julie Halston, Michael McGrath, and Reg Rogers. Andrea Grody and Dean Sharenow, musical supervisors. Produced by Dean Sharenow and David Yazbek. Expected spring-summer 2019.


Hamilton 2020 Day-to-Day Calendar
(Universe Publishing - day calendar)
Includes lyrics, historical dates, and Alexander Hamilton's speeches and writings. 320 pages.

Hamilton 2020 Wall Calendar
(Universe Publishing - wall calendar)
Includes photos of the original cast by Josh Lehrer, lyrics, and important dates. 24 pages.


Rutherford and Son
(Methuen Drama - Paperback Book)
Play by Githa Sowerby, first produced in 1912. Published to coincide with 2019 National Theatre production. (Produced at Mint Theatre in 2001 and 2012.) 112 pages.


Added, no release date:

Kiss Me, Kate
(Ghostlight Records - new on CD)
2019 Broadway revival cast recording of Cole Porter score. Featuring Kelli O'Hara, Will Chase and Corbin Bleu, with Darius Barnes, Preston Truman Boyd, Will Burton, Derrick Cobey, Jesmille Darbouze, Rick Faugno , Haley Fish, Tanya Haglund, Erica Mansfield, Marissa McGowan, Sarah Meahl, Justin Prescott, Christine Cornish Smith, Sherisse Springer, Sam Strasfeld, and Travis Waldschmidt. Orchestrations by Larry Hochman. Music direction by Paul Gemignani. Album produced by Kurt Deutsch and Lawrence Manchester. Recording date: Monday, April 22.